Posted by: Sarah | February 24, 2010

Not a Great Day

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Yesterday, my laptop and wallet (along with credit cards, US driver’s license, and my Social Security card) were stolen out of my office at the school.  What a bummer!  We’ve reported this to the village officials, but there is very little chance of getting anything back.

Almost as soon as this happened, God began bringing to my mind reasons to be thankful in this situation:

  • He didn’t take my whole purse, which held my camera, glasses, and Lao ID cards (a big hassle to replace).
  • He didn’t take my whole computer bag, which held various electronic accessories and charging cords.
  • He didn’t take my software disks.
  • My passport was safely at home (praise-praise-praise-praise-praise).
  • I had just filled up my car with gas, so he didn’t get much money!
  • My laptop was password-protected, so unless he’s really techie, my documents and information are safe.
  • I had just backed up my laptop that morning.
  • He did not go through my desk drawers and find my back-up drive, phone, car keys, or office keys.
  • The staff at the school was very concerned and helpful; one of our office staff went immediately to inform the village police.
  • I have great parents who were willing to get out of bed when I called them at 2:30 a.m. and start canceling credit cards.
  • Everything was able to be cancelled before it could be used.
  • My teammate’s father is coming to visit next week; I’ve ordered a new laptop and he is willing to bring it to me.
  • The thief did not steal one of the computers belonging to the Lao staff—this would be much more difficult for them to replace.
  • I don’t know who the thief was, which makes it much easier to forgive him.
  • I was calm and kept from freaking out!

Have I missed anything? Oh yeah–I’m grateful that I can find things for which to be thankful.

Responses

  1. You missed one thing… your new computer is RED! That’s something to be thankful for!

  2. Sorry to hear that! I hope you can get your new computer set up just as well as the old one.
    James


Leave a Reply

Categories

